1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Dual Platform Pedals

I am a beginner mountain biker but have used SPD clipless pedals when commuting. I'd like to have the OPTION of clipping in, on easier trail sections, and clipping out on technical stuff I'm not sure about. Can someone recommend a good "dual platform" pedal? I have SPD shoes/cleats.

beater

Dual Platform Pedals

This topic comes up pretty frequently. The short answer is no, there aren't any good ones to recommend. This is because, although it sounds like a good idea to a lot of people when starting out, it doesn't work well in practice, and in my experience, everyone who tries them gets rid of them fairly quickly. So there are a few low-end pedals from Shimano and Performance that are aimed at beginners and commuters. They're all about the same in quality from what I can tell. If that's the way you want to go, find the cheapest one, and consider it a training aid. Before long you'll be ready to commit to one system or the other.