1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Nov 2013

DS 8.3 tire help

I am new to biking so I bought a DS 8.3 cause I wasn't sure what I wanted to do road or dirt. Well I'm finding that I'm riding trails more than the road so now I want to put a more aggressive tire on any suggestions.

mtbr member
    according to Trek, you can fit up to a 29x1.8" tire. that will limit your choices a lot. if at all possible, you should look into finding a way to replace the DS with a true mountain bike. a Trek DS is not a mountain bike and it's going to frustrate you more than it will be a source of fun. if you happen to be riding mostly gravel and smooth trails, the DS could be fun, but if the trails get rocky and technical at all, it will become a PITA really fast.

I am confused about why your LBS sold you a DS when you wanted a mountain bike. is it too late to return it?

local trails rider
    I know trails where a Trek DS 8.3 would work quite well - - - and other trails where I wouldn't have the confidence in it, that I have in my burly rigid singlespeed.

Whether the bike is suitable depends on what kind of trails you like and have access to, and how you like to ride them.