1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

Drop-offs + Hardtail = Flat Tire?

I just started riding about a month or two ago. I have been riding a lot though so the experience is coming fast. I do have one question though. I found a pretty sweet drop-off to ride off of, it's about 3.5 feet tall and I finally got enough guts to go off. It was so much fun that I went off again and again. Then the next day I noticed that my back tire would loose air pressure and be flat about every 3 or 4 hours of sitting. My bike is a hardtail and I had my back tire pressure at around 60-65 psi when I was riding off this drop off, also, I weigh only about 145 pounds.

So basically I just was wondering what went wrong. From the forums I can see that most people keep their psi around 45 psi or so. Did I just have my tire too full, not full enough, is this too big of a drop-off for a hardtail. Also, am I just landing too hard? Is there a technique to landing to make it easier on your back tire? I would love to be able to continue hitting this drop-off so any ideas/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

PS - If a 3.5 foot drop off is not too large for a hardtail, then what would be?

I post too much.