Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    TimB

Done with hydro pack , how do you bring water

I'm still a noob here, I ride a local cross country trail for about 1 1/2 hr on a normal ride. I was wearing a cheap back pack / hydration pack with my bike multi tool, snack bar etc, I am pretty much tired of carting all that on my back, riding a circle trail that I could hike out of if my bike breaks down or I fall and get much of a cut or such .
    So this brings me to the question, what' do you all take on a ride? Last ride I just left my water battle in my truck and drank when I was done riding. Then I thought about maybe a water bottle rack on the frame , then how do I carry multi tool, first aid pouch etc,,, maybe a small seat back pouch for tools. ,, what works for you all???

mtbr member
    Mar 2015
    On a trail like walnut where I can walk 1 mile to the car no matter where I am, I have started carrying just a water bottle and the Multi in a pocket.

Same goes for street rides <1:30

Race Strap - MTB Saddle Mount

Other than that, I race and ride with a camelback, and pay attention not to over fill it in races and only put the amount of hydration for the period of riding. I used 32 OZ for 1.5 hour races and get a bottle on the hand up.

Here come the Fanny pack boys with their compromised solution which is still problematic...

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Get a good camelbak or osprey, fitted well. Water bottle with gatorade or such on the bike. Seat bag with multitool, levers and inner tube. 100 oz reservoir for the camelbak, fill as needed. Where would you carry the bacon, sandwich and figs? Handsaw? Pump? Yup, fits right in there.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    I use a Backcountry Research strap for tube, tire levers and multitool, a small saddle bag for things like zip ties, spare chain link and derrailure hanger. And a bottle cage for water and a minipump.

But still carrying a Evoc backpack, wouldn't want to ride without back protection.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008