1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2006

Do I Need A Full Suspension Bike? If so, Which Specialized?

I have been riding my Specialized Hardrock Sport for about two years, and I love it. I ride light trails, no huge drops or anything crazy like that, just basic pavement and single track trails, dirt, hills, etc. No jumps.

I have never been on a full suspension bike so I don't know what I am missing. Looking at the type of riding that I do, would a FS be beneficial? Would I see a major improvement?

If so, sticking with Specialized, which bike would you recommend?

Or, do I pretty have the most comfortable bike for my type of riding?

Thanks!

spec4life???..smh...
    Id say that if you dont feel that your hardrock "just isnt cuttin it anymore" than your skills and type of riding havnt advanced far enough yet to warrent a new FS bike.
    The hardrock is a good bike to just ride XC which looks to be what you are doing. Yes they make better bikes for XC riding but seems to me if you still feel like the hardrock is good enough stick with it and develop your skills further.

Also if you do decide to get a new bike dont be so loyal to specialized. I love my spec but if i were looking for a new bike i would look for the bike that gave me the best componets and frame for the money.

mtbr member