1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2007

disc brakes or not?

Well I am pretty new to mountain biking, and I have a a budget of about $450 and I mostly ride on trails with wet and muddy terrain. I am looking at major brands suck as trek, specialized and haro.

Today I went to many bike shops and looked at many different models. I tried a few out, and have 4 to choose from. Trek 4500, 4300 with disc, spec. hardrock, and the haro v3.

My major question is if it is worth it to get disc brakes, or to get better parts instead. I ride mostly in the woods, but on the road aswell. I live in maine, so the weather is fairly wet and muddy. But it does dry out in the summer.

If anyone could please give me opinions of these bikes, and I am willing to accept any other options aswell.
    Thanks

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    i think it is worth it disc brakes add a little weight but if your wheel is not true the brakes will not rub, i think disc stop better and in med a lot better than v brakes and unless you bend the rotor braking is not hurt, wheel a little bit off can have brake rubbing and lose braking power. i ride a haro and love them.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by walter7361