1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Disc Brake Pulsating / Vibration

Hey guys,
    I'm new to the disc brakes and mine has the hydraulic setup. This is a new bike and when I went out the first time, the brakes felt really smooth and stopped well. After a little bit of "breakin" I notice some clicking or catching coming from the rear brake. I was already near the shop so I stopped in and he said there was some gunk (barely visible) on the rotor and he cleaned it up.

This fixed the problem for a while but now its back, and I think its front and rear now. Is this normal? Everything works fine and stops great but the brakes aren't smooth like they were. I'm guessing this is just the nature of these things but figured I'd ask to be sure.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    This is more of a pulsating / vibration, I should say. Started on the second ride out, maybe 10 miles on it.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Disc Brake Pulsating / Vibration

Quote Originally Posted by tnetz798 View Post
    This is more of a pulsating / vibration, I should say. Started on the second ride out, maybe 10 miles on it.
    What brand/model brakes?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

mtbr member
    Apr 2012