1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2006

Derailleur Hanger -What the heck

Hello out there. I am new to the mountain bike world and have recentlly dove in with both feet. My wife and I love out full suspension bikes; however, recently I made the mistake of trying to buy one for my dad who loves overkill. I bought him a GT -LT1000 Carbon fiber bike which ended up being rigged for downhill usage. It didn't have a rear derailer at the time and he told me to simply have one put on. I had one put on today but I proceeded to ride it off the curb and the piece of metal that keeps the derailer on broke. The bike is of course old and I'm not sure how to get this thing apparently called a Derailleur hanger off the bike and how to put another one on if I can even order one to fit. I can get the derailer off of it; however, where it attaches to the frame looks like some kind of pressure screw in which none of my screwdrivers will fit. Please advise what to do, I'm afraid to spend much more money on this bike!!!! Thanks,

tell me what you think,
    Joebody
    Attached Images Attached Images

Vaginatarian
    Oct 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Joebody