mtbr member

Daddy Needs a New Bike - 29 or 27.5+?

Wow, I've spent way too much time on this site reading the "which bike?" threads. I don't think I researched my 3rd wife this much. So, here's the deal.. I don't have a ton of MTB experience but I'm not a complete noob. Mid 40s, reasonably healthy and like to get into the woods. I'm not looking to race and I live in Houston so I don't see any long, gnarly mountain descents in my near future either. I want something fun and good quality that looks cool and is comfortable and that I won't feel the need to massively upgrade or replace in 6 months. I'm ok in the $1000-1600 range, but want an air fork, Shimano brakes and preferably thru axles.

'16 Trek Superfly 5 - new, $1500, rode it, like it. Seems like decent specs, but QR front and back
    '15 Kona Kahuna - new, $1250, rode it, like it. Not excited about the coil fork and QR. '16 Kahuna has slightly better specs at $1300. DL model has the components I'm looking for but it's $1700
    '16 Spec Crave Comp - new, $1600, rode it, like it. Seems you pay a premium for the Specialized name because the specs sheet isn't lighting me on fire. This one is at the top of my budget and just doesn't excite as much as I think it should

Haven't ridden yet but also looking locally at these used bikes:
    '15 Trek Stache 8 - used, $1300, very good shape, really like the specs on it. Not excited about a black bike but could live with it
    '15 Santa Cruz Highball alloy - used, $1300, very good shape, love the blue color

I'm also thinking that the Niner EMD (like the look and specs) and Kona Honzo fit my criteria, but I have no way to test them.

And as I'm doing all this research on 29er HTs, in the back of my mind I'm also wondering if I should be looking at 27.5+ for the fun factor... Ugh. Does it ever end?

Give me your thoughts and advice please and help put me out of my misery.

Keep on Rockin...