1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

CrankArm Help Please!

What's up everyone,
    I'm quite new to the mountain bike game, but really enjoy riding bikes and dirtbikes, so I went with buying a mountain bike (kind of the middle of riding a bike and dirtbike..atleast for me )

Really enjoyed riding my bike constantly, for about two weeks, but ran into a small problem. It was always hard to screw a pedal into one of my crank arms and I noticed the other day that the pedal (shimano) was very loose. I took the pedal off with a wrench (no trouble at all) and realized all the threads inside of the crank arm were gone. This brings me to the point of buying a new crank arm. I have a 2004 specialized enduro expert, and it says it has Shimano Hollowtech II Crankarms. Could I simply buy a hollowtech crankarm off the internet and do it myself? I've been looking around, but I don't really know exactly what to look for, and haven't found much. I know my pedals fit a 9/16 crankarm, but that's about all I know!!!!
    Any help would be muchhhhh appreciated because I wanna get back to riding!
    Thanks,
    Jake

mtbr member