1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

New question here. cost-efficient upgrades?

I'm new to the sport, and have been pouring over this forum and various other sites to better understand bike mechanics and components - I had a quick question regarding upgrades.

I currently have a Trek 3500. It's basic, but that's fine for me. I got it as a gift and my plan is to ride the thing as much as I can. That being said - what would you say are the most cost-effective upgrades to a bike? Ideally, looking at investing no more than a few hundred $ - is this reasonable or am I completely off base?

Bike performance, ride quality, you name it - what would be the most useful upgrades? For instance, disc brakes would be awesome but from what I'm reading that's not a very feasible option right?

Thanks for your help!

local trails rider
    Tires that suit where and how you ride. After market tires can be much lighter too, than whatever the manufacturer puts on an entry level bike (and higher level too).

Contact points. Are you happy with your grips, bar, stem, seat, pedals, shoes, helmet, gloves? If you don't know yet, ride some more.

In general, I'd say, don't throw money at the bike. Replace things when YOU find a reason to do it.