1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2014

Considering x caliber 9 need help

Hello guys,
    I'm a total beginner besides riding my bike as a kid, so it's been years. :P I went to a LBS, which was mainly a trek dealer, they told me that i should get the X Caliber 9. i plan on using it to commute to work and home which is a 6 mile round trip. Plus i live near a singletrack trail so i would take it on there. I'm 6' 2" and 220# so i was told i should have an air shock which is why the X Cal 9 was recommended. I was curious if this was a good choice or what other bikes are comparable around the same price range. ($1200) THANKS FOR ALL THE HELP

mtbr member
    Mar 2014
    Air shock is always the way to go. Coil isn't very able to be tuned. You could find cheaper bike with a air shock such as an airbourne with a better part spec and lower price. You do gain shop support if you buy the x-cal. I would ask around and see if the shop really does offer good support. Ive worked at big shops where there really wasn't much customer support.
    2010 D440 Redline Rigid 1x9
    2011 Trek Remedy 8 1x10
    2012 Jamis Dragon 2x10
    2013 Diamondback Sortie 3 1x10

mtbr member
    Jul 2014