1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

confidence in the front end.....

Like I said in my first post on here, I am a relative noob to Mt biking. Needed to do something to get back in shape after having a stroke at 30.

Been doing some light riding for 2 years on borrowed bikes and finally bought one.

Most of the riding I do is hard pack with probably 30% loose sand or mud. Mostly flat, still haven't built myself up enough to do any serious climbing. May never be able to but that is what I am striving for.

My problem is I have no confidence in the front end. Tight turns, Sand, loose dirt etc etc etc... it fells like the front is pushing. The front will just slide out in fast or slow turns.

What am I doing wrong or what techniques can i use to help the situation? I've got a new Fork on order (tora) and when it gets here I plan on setting it up for my weight. That may be my problem don't know. or maybe it's just the these things handle...hell I don't know.

local jackass
    more saddle time and confidence also make sure your tires suit the terrain that u ride
    His
    2010 FSR XC
    2010 ALLEZ
    Hers
    2012 Myka 29'r
    2009 Cannondale Synapse 5
    Down East Cyclists

mtbr member