mtbr member
    Oct 2017

Complete noob buying first bike, help me decide between the two deals.

First of all, hello to all. Just to make clear, I am a complete noob in this field. I have no clue what is what, nor what is good, or worth my money.
    I have been driving dirt bikes (motorcycles) for almost twenty years, so I'm not a complete beginner in off road riding, but I'm looking to get into mtb now.

I found two deals so far that I kinda like.

First one: (copied from the post)
    2002 Giant AC2 full suspension MTB, 3x9 speed, Race Face cranks, Sram X0 rear der, Sram X9 shifters, Juicy seven hydraulic disc brakes, 26" Ryno lite rims, XT hubs, Rock Shox Psylo XC fork, a strong durable fun bike, will fit a 6' rider.
    Guys asks 500$ for it.

Second one is one that my friend is selling.
    2012 Scott Spark Comp 29. Shimano Deore XT groups 2x9. Issi clipless.
    He was saying in the ballpark of 800$, posibly lower. We haven't really talked further about it.

Both bikes look pretty good, they are in good condition.
    I know there is no clear answer which one is better, but any advice you can give me, go ahead, it's gonna be much appreciated, Mostly what's a better deal, and what do you think each bike is worth?

mtbr member
    Aug 2017
    Same here im a noob and came from dirt bikes. In my opinion I would go for the scott. Reasons, 29er, 26ers are older and uncommon for newer bikes, 2x9, less gears is better from what I have read to a point, way newer, most likely lighter, scott is better than giant. I'm a noob myself so I may be wrong on some things.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

mtbr member