Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Clipped in or out on descents?

2K views 21 replies 20 participants last post by  B1KER 
#1 ·
I am very new to clipless pedals and am still trying to get comfortable with them. What is the general consensus on clipping in during technical descents? It seems to me that not being clipped in would be the preferred method (its mine at this point), but I feel that some control is lost when I am not clipped in.

Thanks for you input.

#4 ·
First of all what type of clipless pedals do you have? If they are SPD did you set the adjustment screw on both of them to the lightest release point? If you're going on a descent where you're not comfortable being clipped in maybe you shouldn't be on that section of track yet, you might really hurt yourself.

#5 ·
I was new to clipless when I got my new bike in December...and I ALWAYS stay clipped in...figure it is the fastest way to learn...and I have gotten very comfortable with them. I started with the loosest setting and find myself getting them tighter and tighter each time I ride...

#6 ·
FWIW, I also stay clipped in for everything, but I also don't have any cliff edges where I ride - if I did, I'd surely clip out for that, just like 'sonicsuby'.

It's taken a good bit of riding to get completely comfortable w/clipless pedals, but now I wouldn't trade them for anything, definitely worth sticking with it. Now I hate the feel when unclipped from my (Shimano SPD) pedals - like my foot is going to slip off the pedal over even very small bumps - a complete lack of control.

#7 ·
Yeah, once you get the hang of it, you can stay in most of the time...
one of my favorite stories involving clipless was the time the rider ahead of me ate it, and I almost went over the bars, but managed to unclip and jump over (the bars) instead of going headfirst into the wreck ahead of me...
landed it too, felt like a pimp, realized that I was 'officially' accustomed to clipless that day.

#8 ·