1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Climbing technique question...

So ive been riding again for about 7 months. I am relearning technique.

Climbing steep hills, i lose rear traction when i move my ass and body forward and stomp on the pedals. This is how i used to do it.

I get 100x better traction when i place my chest down and move my butt back. doin this, i lay down the power by pushing the pedals in the vertical plane instead of horizontal. Like im folded in two and im kicking forward.

It works, but what gives?

T.W.O.
    Because you weigh the rear keep the tire bite as long as your front wheel does not wander you should be gold. Are you on Clipless?

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Yeah, clipless. But i always thought that when i move forward, because the terrain is steep, i am actually over the rear hub. I guess not?

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    personally i find seated climbing is the best way up steep stuff. if its granny ring steep try that

Fat-tired Roadie
    I think it also has a lot to do with even application of power. Shove on the pedals hard enough and you'll spin out your rear wheel.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

T.W.O.