mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Clicking noise when paddling

Found out today after the ride I could hear some clicking noise when I paddled, once I got home, I found out the front derailleur seems to be touching the chain with larger gears in the back. I turned the dial about 2 revolutions on the gear shift, and it seems to cure the problem.

Now at the back, I found it jumps from the smallest gear to 3rd smallest in one shot. It would not engage the 2nd smallest gear. Another interesting thing is if I reverse the paddle, even without the tires moving, I can hear some clicking noise, not sure where that's coming from. However, I don't hear anymore when I paddle forward.

This is my first attempt to adjust anything on my bike, so I hope I don't break anything! It's a Stumpjumper FSR Comp 2011.

Much appreciate your help.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Gear shifting seems not as smooth as before, I can hear some clinging before the gear clicks in. Before it would engage in a snap.

Picture Unrelated
    Keep adjusting. What resources are you using to learn what adjustments do what? There's a lot of useful youtube videos that explain how to dial in your shifting.

I would suspect that your pedal click is unrelated to your rear shifting issues. Try turning your barrel adjusters to loosen tension on your rear shifter until it shifts properly. Sounds like it's pulling too hard and skipping the second gear.

One thought: if this problem just started randomly then I would suspect that the derailleur hanger has been bent. Large shifting issues (such as missing an entire gear) don't just randomly start from nowhere, they usually have to be caused by something. Sometimes it's a bent hanger, sometimes a muddy or wet ride and sometimes it's been sitting for a while. I always suggest that shifting problems don't happen out of no where, they have a cause.
    Don't you hate it when a sentence doesn't end the way you think it octopus?

mtbr member