1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Clear A Few Things Up For Me Please

Hello All,

So yeah, I'm new at this. But despite my constant reading and learning, a few things are still escaping me.

1.) Pedals. Could someone please tell me the difference between various pedal styles? I've heard clipless and straps mentioned. What about the ones that clip to the bottom of bicycle shoes? And what do you call the ones that come stock on most bikes....the once that are just flat platforms with spikes on them. What's the benefit/drawback of each kind?

2.) Components. I read about shifters, derailers, cranks, shocks, forks etc...but how do I figure out which ones are better than others? For example, I have Shimano Altus rear and Shimano SIS derailers on my bike. Now, from what I understand, these are basicly bottom of the line derailers. Is there some sort of list somewhere that shows them in order from cheapest to best? Like where do Deore and XTRs comes in? What about Sram? Same goes with shocks and forks. What are them bottom of the line, whichs ones are mid grade, and which are "best". I'm sure someone has made a list somewhere. A link would be greatly appritiated.