1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Cant decide which bike (decided)

So I want to buy my first mountain bike. My background is all dirt bikes. I love trail riding and have been riding for 8 years now.

I went to my LBS today and looked at the Giant Revel 2 and Revel 1 both are very beautiful bikes with the Revel 1 being on the upper end of what I am willing to spend for my first bike.

I also responded to a caigslist add from a other bike shop that says he has a 2011 Scott Aspect 50 (black, yuck) for $399 or a Scott Aspect 40 for $450 (green).

So, what should I do? I am leaning toward the Aspect 40 because it seems like the highest quality bike and the price seems pretty good.

I guess i should add that i am not entirely sure what kind of riding i will do. But I imagine that the bike will be my limiting factor eventually because of my dirt bike background i know how to handle two wheels and love speed and jumping. But for now an entry level bike that i can ride on hiking trails will do till i decide that i need to be dumping $2K into this.

I am also looking into used bikes but there isnt anything on craigslist at the moment.
    Last edited by joman2055; 08-05-2011 at 07:40 PM.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011

mtbr member
    Jul 2011