1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2008

cannondale vs specialized

Hi

I'm new in the biking world, I did a lot of running and recently my friend made me crazy about adventure racing. I have some races behind me and I need a good bike for that purpose. I did some research , asked a few people and there are two bikes that I'm considering: cannondale rush 2(or 3 - don't know yet) or specialized stumpjumper FSR 29er. I need a reliable bike good both for riding on mountain trails and sometimes roads, lightweight because I'm sure I will have to carry it at some places and good for all weather conditions. Can You please help me decide? Or maybe there is another bike that I should consider? Thanks!

Probably drunk right now

Both

Quote Originally Posted by Tirit
    Hi