1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Cannondale Trail SL 29er 4 (2012) < $700

I'm a beginner looking for my first MTB. Found a deal at LBS for less than $700. Read a lot about this bike. There's always pros and cons review. Just want to get more info to confuse my decision

http://www.cannondale.com/2012-trail-sl-29er-4-20758

What do you think?

mtbr member
    Pretty good bike for the money. My buddy has the SL4 29er, I think 2012.

Here are the issues I had with it.

1.5" headtube(not necessarily a bad thing), can make finding a replacement/upgrade fork difficult. You can buy a headset adapter for a 1 1/8" or tapered fork, but that is added cost.

The brakes. They never felt right. The modulation is terrible, he has had constant issues with them sticking, and losing alignment. They do have plenty of power though.

Cannondale isn't what they used to be. They are not all american made frames like the good ol days. Since purchased by Doral, they are just a name attached to a frame to sell bikes. Though, you can say that about many companies these days.

Fat-tired Roadie
    It's an unhappy medium pricepoint. It was when it was new and it still is. Or, it would be at $700. Does "less than" mean $699 or does it mean $400?

$700 can get a race-ready bike used.