mtbr member
    Mar 2014

New question here. Cannondale M800-Beast of the east - Is this bike good for $200?

I am a newbie and trying to get into biking mostly for fitness/fun. After going through few posts, mtbr'er recommends to get a good used bike rather than new walmart bikes.

What do you guys suggests? Is it worth it? (I believe these are pretty old bikes). Did a few google-ing and looks like these were very popular in their days ( and somewhat even now).

Thanks for any suggestions!

My budget is tight.. around <=200.
    Last edited by Ginnie; 03-11-2014 at 09:51 AM.

AZ
    banned
    If it fits go for it.

B A N N E D
    Apr 2007
    What condition is the fork in ?

That bike might end up costing you more then $200

mtbr member
    Mar 2014
    doublepost.

mtbr member
    Mar 2014
    I am going to look at it tomorrow and hopefully it is fine. How do we gauge in what condition the fork is beside looking for cracks/rust? thank you for pointing this out, I will check it out.
    sorry, this will be my first bike and don't have much knowledge about them beside reading in mtbr. Any suggestions on how we know forks are good/bad? Thanks!

Fat-tired Roadie

Re: Cannondale M800-Beast of the east - Is this bike good for $200?

I had those tires! And those are some amazing bar ends...

What kind of riding do you want to do?

A good check with any bike is to squeeze the front brake and try to rock the bike fore and aft. There may be a little flex but there shouldn't be any klunking. Make sure the rear brake works too.

You might also try holding the wheel between your knees and twisting the handlebars. Don't twist too hard, wheels aren't really meant to be strong in this direction. But it could give you some insight.