1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    aan
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Can you haggle for prices on new bikes?

I'm very close to buying a bike, I've gotten a lot of good input from everyone on here the past few days so thank you all for that.

Since this is my first time buying a new bike over a used, I wanted to know if it was appropriate or not to attempt to "haggle" the price on the bike, especially since its getting close to the launch of many 2012 models in shops around here. Is it similar to buying a car or is that a dick move? Any advice is appreciated on this!

Thanks!

Nickel Havr
    Go for it... What's the worst that can happen? They say no?

I just got a considerable discount on a 2011 Santa Cruz Nickel and I didn't even ask for a discount!
    Quote Originally Posted by William Blake
    Great things are done when men and mountains meet. This is not done by jostling in the street .

mtbr member
    Well, the first thing I'd consider is how well off the shop is. If it seems like they're struggling I'd probably feel bad about talking them down on a sale. If they're busy and doing well I'd definitely try to get them down a bit on the price. If they wont budge on it, see if they can throw some stuff in with the bike like a new helmet, pedals, or some armor.

aan
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011