mtbr member

Can upgrades make a bike more nimble?

I have a KHS Sixfifty 600 (hardtail, XC set-up). I am pretty happy with the bike, but it's not as nimble as I would like. Is there anything I can do - new wheels, new fork, etc. - to make it more nimble, or is the frame the limiting factor?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Upgrading to lighter parts might make it a little easier to throw around. Other than that you are basically at the mercy of the frame geometry and wheel base length. You've got a fairly steep head angle on that bike so it should corner nicely for XC use.

Can you maybe elaborate a little more on what you mean by "nimble" -- cornering at high/lo speeds, tackling obstacles, changing lines, etc.
    All good things in all good time

mtbr member
    I'm looking more to get it up and over obstacles easier. The cornering is fine, it's just harder to get it off the ground than some other bikes.

I'm a noob, so I don't know how noticeable a lighter wheel set or better fork would be. I don't want to spend a lot of money on something that is going to be marginally better. For example, the dropper post was money well spent, but would lighter wheels make much difference?

I ride bikes
    That fork is ok weight wise. Its only about a lb(.5kg) heavier than the lightest comparable fox fork. When I upgraded the wheels on my last bike and went tubeless I dropped probably 1.5-2lbs of weight from wheels and tires. That is the furthest extremity from my body, and it is unsprung rotational mass. I noticed a huge difference in the bikes playfulness (especially in the air).

I dont think the frame is holding you back much.

Another area to drop some quick weight is by going to a 1x9 drivetrain setup with a NW chaining. That drops about a lb of weight.

Unsprung mass - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Hope this helps!

mtbr member
    Aug 2008