mtbr member

can i use 9/10 speed rear derailleur on 8 speed casstte?

hi, im new to bikes, my bike is 8 speed. can i use a 9 or 10 speed rear derailleur on my 8 speed cassette?

if it would work how to adjust it?

thanks

my bike has Shimano Deore rear derailleur and Altus EF51 now, im looking at the sram x line. some of the ad showing sram would require esp shifter, what does this mean? if they are not compitable, whats good upgrade from my current parts?

Huckin' trails
    Hi,

You can use any 9 speed rear derailleur with a 9-8-7-or smaller cassette. You will need a 10 spd rear derailleur to work with a 10 spd cassette, because the spacing is smaller with a 10 spd setup.

You will need a 10 speed chain for a 10 speed setup, a 9 speed chain for a 9 speed setup and any 8 speed chain will work on 8-7-6 speed or lower.

Since they don't pretty make 8 speed drive train much, they just do 9 spd der or 10 spd der.

Just a tip, when posting a question like that, just try to name the brand, year and model of the bike you have...

And yes, a shimano der will work with any cassette and a SRAM der also.

You will have to buy the derailleur depending on your shifters, since SRAM derailleur are only compatible with SRAM shifters and Shimano derailleur are only compatible with Shimano shifters.

Then you all good to go.

David

ps : der = derailleur
    Quote Originally Posted by NicoleB28 View Post
    topless. that's what all mtb girls do. we go ride, get topless, have pillow fights in the woods, scissor, then ride home!

Fat-tired Roadie
    Shimano and SRAM have both broken reverse-compatibility with their 10-speed drivetrains.

You can use a 9-speed derailleur. You CAN NOT use a 10-speed.

Your Deore rear derailleur is already a pretty nice part. Use it until it wears out or you break it.

In general, the brand of the shifters and rear derailleur needs to match. The number of speeds of the shifters, cassette and chain needs to match.