1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Can i "SECURE" my bike from getting JACKED?

Hi,

I'm a Rookie at all this so I'm wondering is there a way or what's the best thing on the market as far as locking up my bike. preferably something that's reasonably priced if possible. Example: I would like to be able to ride along Venice beach, California that i live very close to and to be able to lock up my bike or even better two bikes at a time "Mine and my chikas" and have lunch at those cafe's. I don't know what's good? What's not? What not to do? and in what way's most bikes get stolen?

Thank you, I appreciate any and all ideas and or suggestions.

KENJI

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Well if you want foolproof security, find a pole, get the burliest, longest lock you can afford/find, and loop it through your backwheel, frame, and frontwheel going around the pole.
    Usually, just a simple frame to pole lock will suffice, but these bike thiefs get daring sometimes.

ride like you stole it
    Nov 2007