1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Dec 2012

Buying a used bike for versatility in Southern Utah. HALP!

Oh boy.. I'm insanely new. I've been riding the $200 Walmart Mongoose for a few years a few times a year is all. I want to really get into riding. I live in Southern Utah.. so Home of the Redbul Rampage and other events. People here are quite serious about MTBing. I would love love love a great downhill/Freeride bike, but there are a ton of great XC trails here. I would love some recommendations.. I'm shopping for about a dozen or so online and have found some (what I believe) are great deals.

I want to spend MAX $800 (If I spend $800, i can't buy any upgrades or do any pricey services). So I have some options... not a TON, but some.

Could anyone suggest from the following;

Ironhorse SGS - $450
    Ironhorse Yakuza kumicho - $750 (Local so YAY)
    Rocky Mountain Switch SL - $750
    2007 Jamis Parker 2 - $775
    Banshee Scream - $800
    GT MARATHON ELITE - $600
    2003 Diamonback XTS Moto - $400 (Local so YAY)
    Santa Cruze Bullit - $800 (Local so YAY)

Again.. I mostly want a good FR bike. But I will be doing some pedaling (which I loathe).. So.. Thanks for everything and it's great to be here.

Beer Me!