1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Buying my first bike....What accessories should I get?

Hello everyone, I am a newbie in the mountain biking world and making my first post.

I went to college in colorado, so I was introduced to the mountain bike world and went mountain biking a hand full of times, and loved it everytime. Unfortunately, I am also an avid skiier, so I spent most of my time and money on skiing while living there. I moved back to St. Louis after college, where there is no skiing, and found that we have some pretty fun and challenging trails here, and I think I will be making mountain biking my new full time hobby.