1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Dec 2012

Buying an individual sprocket for a crank?

I am new to tinkering with bikes this heavily.

I got a bush beater pretty much given too me by a friend. I live on a tight budget so I am always looking for free or next to free toys. I rode the bike for awhile until the bottom bracket gave out. When going to replace it I noticed that somebody had stripped the threads out trying to remove the crank arm with the sprockets. My crank got trashed during the removal process. My friend told me I could have the one he had on his beater bike. I went to take it off and it is missing the smallest sprocket! He said he had it at one point but I can't find it anywhere!

Anyways my question is: can I get replacement sprocket for this crank? I haven't called anywhere around here yet because the mark-up instore is crazy. I like to go to online stores for better deals.

Might be a simple question but that is why I posted it here!

mtbr member
    Mar 2011