1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Buying a hardtail

Hello,

I am buying a new hardtail bike. I am a beginner, female, 25y/o, 169cm, 63kg. I am an ex-runner who can't run anymore due to injury. But I'm looking forward to some serious cycling now. My preference is climbing but I also enjoy technical descents (but without big jumps, I am not talking about downhill). I want not too heavy, good equipped bike for a reasonable price. I think I should look for hardtail XC, right?

So far, my favorite option is Giant XtC Composite 29er 1 2014 (or 2013 since it's a bit cheaper-around 160$ )... what do you think about it? The equippment is mostly SLX, is that good enough?

Below is 2013 vs 2014 bike compare. There are some differences with fork, saddle, handlebar, shifters?, rear derailleur, brakes? and wheels. I am not familiar with bike equipment so I have no idea which is better and why.

Thank you for your help.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Re: Buying a hardtail

I would get the 2014 model. The shadow plus feature is great. Plus, the 2014 version of the Fox fork supposedly doesn't have the issues of the previous years' Float CTD. At least, mine doesn't have the issue.