1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Buying a bike, complete newbie! Trek 3500 Disc?

Hi guys!

Well i'm looking to getting a bike here to ride back and forth to work about 4 miles each way, and hopefully to get me into the cycling spirit. I haven't ridden a bike probably in 10 years but after visiting my LBS I think i'm going to pick up the Trek 3500 Disc, which I hear is better because i'm in WA and it rains a ton. Its 439 plus they'll take $50 off because Trek is running a sale. So it'll be $385 which is kind of an investment, but I figure HEY, it'll be fun and get me into shape!

Is this a good deal? I've been doing research for about a week now and it seems good but reviews are few and far between and a couple years old. Also, I guess their is a 3500 without discs so I get a little confused on the reviews.

The other bikes the store has around the same price is a Specialized MYKA and Giant Revel 3 W.

Hoping to make a purchase tomorrow, your thoughts and feedback is greatly appreciated.

-Pete

*ps* I'm about 5'11 185lbs if that makes a difference.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    The other two are woman specific. At your height I would go for a 29er. This one is an option no tax.
    Save up to 60% off new Mountain Bikes - MTB - Gravity 29Point1 29er Mountain Bikes