Thread: Buying Bike

mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Buying Bike

I am buying my first bike this week. I am totally new to the sport and Im looking for a bike that will last that I can upgrade as money permits. Below is what I am looking to get and was wondering which is the best bang for the buck.

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/dawes/hay1200.htm

http://bikesdirect.com/products/wind..._cliff4700.htm

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/dawes/hay1500.htm

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...ne_600HT07.htm

http://bikesdirect.com/products/wind..._cliff4900.htm

mtbr member
    Have you tried your local bike store (LBS) yet? That would be my first suggestion. See what they might have in your price range or what they can get. Nothing like getting to try before you buy, that way you get a properly fitted bike which can make all the difference in the world. That way you also start building some relationship with your LBS. It is also not uncommon for LBS's to have nice used bikes at decent prices too.

too cold to ride
    I am not familiar at all with Bikesdirect bikes (moto, windsor, dawes), but I think the 'list prices' are ridiculous. If you are looking entry level, there are better-known brands in the same price point. I'd visit several bike shops and get a feel for what is out there.

The line about wanting you to compare to a $900 Trek or Spec, yeah, they don't really want you to do that. Component-wise, those five you link to are basically all the same bike. Not saying the pricing is bad- it seems reasonable.
    Now go home and get your ******* shinebox.

pants on head retarded
    Bikesdirect isn't terrible-- the motobecane's have decent frames and good components for the price (usually skimping on the forks, but still not bad). The "list prices" are way off base, but they are a good bargain.