1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2006

buying advice please

hello all-

Just wanted to ask for a bit of advice. I want, in the next few weeks, to buy a bike for general use on some dirt/mountain trails behind my home in Los Angeles. I've been riding these trails for a few years now with an old mongoose that I purchased about 8-9 years ago. A gift from my parents gives me about a $1000-1200 and I wanted to upgrade to something better.

So first, where do I start learning the basics? By basic I mean questions like what is better, hardtail or full-suspension? And with full suspension what is the difference between XC, freeride, downhill, and all mountain?

And second, are their particular recommendations that any of you have in terms of bikes in this price range that I should be looking at?

Thank you in advance for your help.

ride hard take risks
    1) HT or FS? HT in general is great for fire roads, smooth trails. FS is good for agressive trails rough terain.
    XC also known as cross country, narroow it down trail riding.
    FR freeride hucking 10-45+ foot drops or gaps, big jumps.
    DH downhill the name should explain it all, chair lift up bomb down.
    AM all mountain combination XC,DH,FR but nat to the extream level agressive trail riding.