mtbr member
    May 2006

bunny/j-hop help

I can get probably about a foot in the air right now. maybe a little more sometimes. I can also hop sideways off a curb and so on. I was just woundering, I think Im starting bad habits. I hop up pretty much all at once with the front and the back. I mean I pull up the front first, but my understanding was that its better if you do a manual or wheelie first, then push out the back. whenever I try that (asside from the fact that Im not that good at doign a wheelie and cant really do a manual for very long at all) I slip off the pedals and potentially, painfully hit my shins on my BMX pedals (I have a Rocky Mountain Flow 2.0)

any tips on bunny hopping/how to build balance to do a manual/wheelie?

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    darn i thought you were doing that stuff with an XC bike

i'm practicing on my trek 3700 (40 lbs) so its hard for me to pull up. to go 10'' +

bmx should be so much easier, and fun.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by dorsalis
    darn i thought you were doing that stuff with an XC bike

i'm practicing on my trek 3700 (40 lbs) so its hard for me to pull up. to go 10'' +

bmx should be so much easier, and fun.
    A rocky maintain flow 2.0 is a pretty heavy full sized bike...but it has BMX pedals, and is made for trials/dirt jumping, I use it for trails, because I ride them hard.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    Check out this page, best bunnyhop tutorial on the web, IMO.

http://www.bmxbasics.org/new/bmx0703.html

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    rad, thanks for hte article

mtbr member
    May 2006
    yea, thanks...

There's no app for this.

thoughts

if you're slipping, get some decent shoes with sticky soles like 5-10's. If you're wearing the wrong shoes, expect to slip. Lots.

check out (search) for the flowmaster video on this forum.

check out Jay Hoots here: http://www.nsmb.com/trail_tales/askh...unny_04_03.php

mtbr member
    Apr 2006