1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    Meeeeeeeep

Broken frame on Mongoose, new frame? or new bike?

My dad picked up a 2006 Mongoose XR comp full suspension 26" bike 3 years ago and I've been riding it most weekends for about 2 years. I stayed on XC trails for about a month and then started going on the harder trails, I guess you'd call it all mountain. Well the lower suspension arm broke in half and now I am looking for either a new bike or a new frame.

I ride pretty aggressively, and I find that I am constantly adjusting my bike to keep it in good shape. I am on my way to college in the fall and I don't have a ton of cash to spend. I am pretty familiar with fully reassembling bikes as I've done it once before, so I think buying a new frame is a good option. I am only 5'10" so a medium frame (18"-19") would fit me best. I don't know too many good brands, so suggestions for a frame under say $200 would be great.

I guess a whole new bike might be necessary, but from what I can tell, most of the parts on it aren't too bad.

Former Bike Wrench
    The XR Comp is a department store bike, it was never intended to be ridden aggressively. The fact that you got as much out of it as you did is pretty good.