1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Broke the chain, complete novice

Hi Guys, Bought a mountain bike a month ago from sports authority, it was very basic Columbia mountain bike. It has been riding fine until recently I went to the local park trail to enjoy some challenging roller coaster ride. The thing is I went there third time, its chain literally broke down: partly I blame myself for straining it too much on uphill riding and changing the gears during heavy acceleration.
    Now I am stuck in deciding how and where I could get a new suitable chain. Major problem I am facing is what brand/model/and other attributes to consider and I could not even identify my bike's model etc. All I know is Columbia mountain bike. If you guys could help me on this I will appreciate it.
    Once I figure out my bicycle's model and correct chain type to buy,
    I would have to decide from two options:
    buy extra tough chain for heavy acceleration and uphill climbing,
    or buy many cheaper chain and always carry extra one incase of emergency.
    Any advise will be appreciate it. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Well, if the bike is just one month old, the shop will possibly fix the chain under warranty. No need to replace the whole chain, just the broken link.