mtbr member
    May 2011

Boulder SE advice quick!!

Hey there! I am brand new at the bike thing and looking for a good starter bike for commuting, mid-light trails with the potenial option to really get down and dirty if I like this whole thing. I have been looking and comparing for waayyyy too long and have it narrowed down to a handful that I am interested in. I have an opportunity to jump on a 2010 Giant Boulder SE with tool kit and pump for $250. It is owned by a guy that bought it, broke his ankle and he says he's never even been on it. Time is of the essence since I don't want someone else to snag it before me. Am I fool if I don't take the plunge right now? Thanks

Fat-tired Roadie
    Meh.

http://bikepedia.com/QuickBike/BikeS...ack)&Type=bike

I don't know what your budget is, but I think it's better to skip bikes with freewheels, which is most of the ones with 7 cogs in the back.

Did you ride any of the ones you've been looking at and comparing? Which was your favorite?
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    May 2011
    My budget range is $300-350 ish. I am all about snagging a good deal though and that's part of the reason I haven't pulled the trigger on anything so far. This seems like a pretty good deal, considering my price range...

mtbr member
    Well it is a better bike than $200 will get you at Wallyworld but I am sure some would disagree.

Probably OK for easier MTB trials/unkept bike paths not so much if you "get down and dirty"
    Duct tape iz like teh Force. It has a Lite side and a Dark side and it holdz the Universe together.

mtbr member
    have you looked on bikesdirect? i don't think you can get a much better bike for the money. giant's are a lot of bike for the money. maybe he'll take $200

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    I have the boulder okay bike been wanting more. good commuter crappy on real technical like very rooted courses. I would save money and get a better bike..

Fat-tired Roadie