1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2011

Boulder SE advice quick!!

Hey there! I am brand new at the bike thing and looking for a good starter bike for commuting, mid-light trails with the potenial option to really get down and dirty if I like this whole thing. I have been looking and comparing for waayyyy too long and have it narrowed down to a handful that I am interested in. I have an opportunity to jump on a 2010 Giant Boulder SE with tool kit and pump for $250. It is owned by a guy that bought it, broke his ankle and he says he's never even been on it. Time is of the essence since I don't want someone else to snag it before me. Am I fool if I don't take the plunge right now? Thanks

Fat-tired Roadie
    Meh.

http://bikepedia.com/QuickBike/BikeS...ack)&Type=bike

I don't know what your budget is, but I think it's better to skip bikes with freewheels, which is most of the ones with 7 cogs in the back.

Did you ride any of the ones you've been looking at and comparing? Which was your favorite?
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    May 2011