1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Bike Upgrade Questions

Hey everyone,

First off, I'd like to say that I'm a complete beginner in terms of biking. I recently bought a Trek 3700 for light to medium trail work and also commuting to and from class at college. The bike itself is wonderful, but I'm a bit concerned about the brakes. Since I go to school in Rochester, NY, and since it is often wet there, I am concerned about the braking ability of my bike in those conditions, especially around defenseless pedestrians . The bike is completely stock right now, with linear pull brakes front and rear. My question is this: how difficult and expensive would it be to replace the front brake with a disc brake. I already read some of the posts in other forum topics and found out that I will need to invest in some new wheels. However, there were no price ranges or directions on how to replace anything.

Oh, one last thing. I would like to keep this as cheap as possible cuz I'm a poor college student .

Thanks in advance,
    Sig

mtbr member
    Feb 2008