1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Bike ID Help ? : (Diamondback Javelin?)

Being a complete noob with only $250 max to blow, i went browsing around, and the best i could find was the Diamondback Outlook and Endeavors as well as Ironhorse Estate's around my price range, and your run of the mill crap. This was the best i could find. Can't find any info on the interwebs on this guy.Been reading up on bikes for a day.

So really, what's up with this bike ?

Front forks are Zoom 386's. Derailer is a shimano altus.

So i'm curious as to why i can't find any info whatsoever on my bike.

mtb wipeout king
    probably because it is a box store model (sportmart, sportcheck) and most likely only sold for 250 brand new at sale prices. In fact I remember seeing an add for it in the sportcheck flyer last year on sale for 200

The store only models never show up on diamondback's website. Just a pre warning though, that fork is useless, and probably toast by this point.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Did you buy this bike already? New / used?

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    Yep i got it at Sportchek since it was a step up from anything i could get. And i checked out what the LBS had . And yeah the bike i got last night, sitting in my garage as seen in my pics.