1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Bike Helo

mtbr member
    Sep 2010

Bike Helo

I am new to Mountain biking. I have a Schwinn S20 and i keep breaking stuff on it i went to SpotsAuthority and im lookin at a mountain bike from Diamondbk called Topana. Is thi good bike? heres th link to it

http://www.sportsauthority.com/produ...entPage=family

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Welcome to mtbr.

I would skip it. Their retail prices look off because the response sport (not base response) looks like a better bike. You may want to check your local performancebike store for some gt avalanche models. They have d'backs too, and have good customer service/warranty.

mtbr member
    Gear, avoid department stores. Tell us your budget, and we can recommend some bikes for you from a local bike shop.

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    My budget is no more than 700 dollars. whats better the front suspention or full suspntion bikes??

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Gear_head15
    My budget is no more than 700 dollars. whats better the front suspention or full suspntion bikes??
    That's a little bit like asking 'What's better a car or truck?'

Rather what and how do you intend to use it?

Professional Speed Bump
    $700 won't get you a new full susser so going with a hardtail would be the right thing.