1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Bike, helmet, hydration, gloves. Good to go?

Hey, I'm a MTB newb. I ordered a Rockhopper 2011 last week. Should be here in the next day or so. I picked up a helmet, hydration pack and gloves this weekend.

Any other gear I really need? Or should I just go for a ride or two and figure it out?

I haven't been on a bike in 15 years but I used to ride my bmx style bike on an off road my entire childhood. Plus I'm a good athlete so I think I'll have few issues. I plan to wear my regular sneakers and non-mtb clothes at first.
    Last edited by level4; 08-01-2011 at 08:51 AM.

Made in Canada
    There's a bunch of threads and I believe a Sticky on this too, but you should also consider carrying at minimum:

-a multi-tool
    -a mini pump
    -a spare tube
    -tire levers

If you don't want to carry a spare tube a patch kit will also work. Other than that you should be good to go! Enjoy it! A good pair of sunglasses is also good to have, but not required. You can carry much more, but that is what I would recommend adding to your equipment!
    STOLEN: '07 Banshee Viento - See Eastern Canada Forum for Pictures. If anyone sees it contact me ASAP!

mtbr member
    Apr 2006