1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Bike/Frame Design Courses - Is there such a thing?

Hello all.
    I am studying Mechanical Engineering at University of Western Canada and am wondering if there is a course related to bike and/or frame design? I think this is an avenue of engineering I would love to explore post graduation.
    Does something like this exist?

Thank you for your time

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Ther is a school in Oregon that teaches everything about bikes I think it's called the bicycle instute.

Fat-tired Roadie
    Do your best to land internships at bike companies. Also, try to get a grounding in biomechanics. I think I frequently run into papers on bike stuff in the Journal of Sports Medicine - whatever journal it is, keeping an eye on the literature on your own never hurts. The thing about a bicycle is that it's really all about improving the efficiency of the human driving it.

Pay attention to Systems and Dynamics if you're interested in suspension. Pay attention to Failure of Materials if you're interested in being a good engineer. ;-)
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    Thanks for the replys guys.