1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Bike computers

mtbr member

Bike computers

I am fairly new to bike computers, I never had one when I did mountain biking back in the 1990's.

I bought a Sigma wireless one earlier this year, but the battery went flat and it lost all the stored settings, which was a bit of a downer.

So today I went back to the LBS and they recommended a GPS one, in fact the Garmin Edge 200 which barely cost any more than the Sigma.

But there's a more expensive version, the 500, which looks the same but comes with a heart rate monitor that you put round your waist.

Of course the LBS were recommending I bought this one if I could stretch to the extra 100 it cost (about $150 extra)

Now I have gone from just wanting to know my speed and distance, to computers that tell your heart rate.

So I came away from the LBS confused, with nothing.

Do I need to know this. I mean, my heart rate while I am on a ride? I'm 50 and only ride for fun, I'm not trying to win any competitions.

There's a whole forum for these kinds of discussions.

GPS, HRM and Bike Computer