Ilsa

Bike build sequence

I'm new to all this craziness, however I'm fairly mechanically inclined. I just bought an older early '90's aluminum frame and was wondering, is there a recommended process to follow in building it up?

I realize you don't need to follow a certain order, but I'm a newbe and would like to see how it's done the tried and true way first. Thanks.

AZ
    banned
    There is a stickie at the top of the tool forum on this very subject .

Ilsa
    Where?

AZ
    banned
    tool forum , at the top .

Ilsa
    Ok. Finally found it in stickied in the Tool forum. That's kind of a marathon read about how to put a bike together, to include what to eat for lunch and who to invite over. I was looking for more of a step 1 - 10, if it exists. If it doesn't exist, that's fine. It's not like it's a complex 3000 lb car.

i also unicycle
    Jan 2007
    install a part that can/needs to be installed first, ie, install the bottom bracket before the cranks, and the headset before the fork and stem. i like to get frame, seatpost and clamp, headset, fork, bb and cranks in first, then derailleurs, bars/shifters, wheels, brakes, chain, and all the finishing touches, tubes, tires, grips etc.

there's really not a wrong way to do it, as long as everything's on there and works.
    mtbr says you should know: i work in a bike shop.
    bikes & beers (on my blog) http://idontrideenough.blogspot.com/

mbtr member
    I like to start at the back and work my way forward. Installing cassettes and adjusting rear brakes is tedious, mounting up cranks is kinda cool, but by the time i'm pounding on a crown race and running shift cables i'm so excited that i'm shaking with glee and just wanna noodle around the parking lot NOW!

God trimming steer tubes is a rush.
    "Things that are complex are not useful, Things that are useful are simple."
    Mikhail Kalashnikov

mtbr member