1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Big help needed, drivetrain advice.

Hey, thanks for clicking this thread!

I'm extremely new to bike components and such so please go easy on me.

Firstly, ATM I'm riding a Voodoo Bantu 26" MTB, 20" frame. I didn't get the bike intentionally and didn't even intend to start riding until I realized the beauty behind it. I received the bike as part of an insurance claim where my original 7 year old bike was stolen. Since the bike was built for so called 'rugged terrain' I decided to try and push it a bit, I've been riding for around 3 month now and I believe I have pushed the bike to its limits and I'm looking to build a DH/Freeride bike. I occasionally ride street with harsh impact such as stair sets and concrete gaps, and even park. I also ride my local trails and large dirt jumps religiously after college. I noticed alot of DJ bikes are fixed drivetrain or single gear or whatever, but I use the bike practically too and I cant afford + do not want 2 bikes.