1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Bicycle sizing

no trees are safe

Bicycle sizing

Hey guys.

Due to my lower back spine disc problems I'm searching for a full susp. bike for XC rides and perhaps low level competitive marathon races. Unfortunately I'm a student so I can't quite afford a shining new ride. I Did run into a stock equipped 2011 Trek Fuel EX 8 which I could probably get down to about 900 EUR. But it's an 18,5" frame and I'm over 180cm tall. I do not know precisely how tall I am, but my older 17,5" HT bike barely fits with the saddle tube at max height.

So the question is... is it a good size for me, and is it a good bike for general XC and Trail riding/racing? I know the info is quite vague, but I should be able to add more over time. Just ask what would you like to know and I'll do my best.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Sizing: Fit Calculator - Competitive Cyclist
    Measure, insert, it'll spit out sizing info.

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    Hey MSU alum you wouldn't happen to still be in the EL area would you?

R.I.P. DogFriend