1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    Pat McGroyne
    May 2009

Best way to raise handlebars?

Currently I feel a bit outstretched on my bike. I'm 5'7 and ride a medium frame all-mountain bike. The current handlebars are low rise and I have a 45mm stem (0 degrees). Is it better to get high rise handle bars or just add spacers below the stem? I'm using the bike for DH.
    Last edited by pmg5727; 05-08-2011 at 07:43 PM.

mtbr member
    Between the two choices it's not a matter of better but rather which you like better. Spacers would sure be cheaper if you can fit em. Maybe rotate the bars to get em closer?
    the strongest trees grow on the windiest plains... ~Tone's

ouch....
    Yah, if you have spacers above your stem now, just move the stem higher/spacers below.

You could get a higher rise bar, or angle them back towards you slightly, or get a stem with an angle rise.
    Riding.....

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    5'7"... you can fit small frame bike
    2011 transition 250
    2009 DB scapegoat

R.I.P. DogFriend
    Do you have a picture of your bike from a side angle?

Pat McGroyne
    May 2009

here's a photo of my current setup

The stem actually has a 10 degree rise. I forgot to mention that I am using this bike primarily for DH rides.