1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2009

Best Practices: Shifting and Gears

I'm new to mountain biking and am waiting on my LBS to receive and build my Hardrock Disc....anxiously.

I will be riding on easy to moderate trails on the weekends and then commuting to and from work on weekdays. My commute will be roughly 8-10 miles round trip depending on what train stop I get off at.

I was wondering if you experienced riders out there can chime in and share your best practices for both types of riding. I know it will be different per rider, but figured this would be good to know.

When do you use the front gears vs the rear?

What gear range do you stay in on road vs trail?

Is it bad to change more than one gear before the chain moves?

There are probably other "best practices" you can share aside from the questions I've posted, so please share!

Thanks

There's no app for this.

Here you go

here. Jim

mtbr member
    May 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by JimC.
    here. Jim
    'nough said....

+1 for you....thanks!

I like bacon... (clyde)
    Awesome article, definitely worth a read.