1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Best 29er under $500? please help..

Hi guys. I'm a newbie and interested in MTB'g, but don't want to spend more than $500. I tried craigslist and have had little luck. The good ones go like lightening!! Are there any new bikes from 300-500 that are very decent bikes? I plan on doing more paved trails than actual vertical terrain (thought about hybrids, but don't like the design). Thanks so much if u can point me in the right direction!

Kurt

mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    Outside online likes this one (and so do I).

Diamondback Overdrive Mountain Bike | Mountain Bikes | OutsideOnline.com

Bluesky also has this for $520 ($560 with shipping)

BlueSkyCycling.com - GT Karakoram 2.0 Disc 29er Bike

And this for $320 ($360 with shipping):

BlueSkyCycling.com - GT Karakoram 3.0 29er Bike

Bikes Direct has a few like this one in that price range:

Save up to 60% off new Mountain Bikes - MTB - Gravity 29Point1 29er Mountain Bikes

And if you can stretch to $650 (with shipping) Airborne has this:

Airborne Bicycles. Guardian
    ~ 2011 GT Avalanche 2.0
    ~ 1993 Diamondback Topanga
    ~ 2012 Diamondback Overdrive Expert

mtbr member
    Aug 2012