1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

beginner wants full-suspension...

hi guys so im completely new to this, but i want/need a new sport so i decided to try mountain biking...

i used to do some BMX dirt jumping back in the day and that was a blast so i figure getting on some local trails on a full-suspension mountain bike would be even more fun...

anyways so im almost ready to buy the Iron Horse Maverick 4.5. I found one brand new at a local shop for $500. I read that this is a good beginner bike, but that its heavy.. it didnt seem THAT heavy to me when i tried it out, but what do i know, im a newb...

my budget is $600 and i know i want full suspension... should i just get this Iron horse, or look for something different??? any sugestions would be greatly appreciated...

thanks in advance

mtbr member
    Aug 2008